Connect with us

Lars Ulrich reveals his favorite Metallica songs to play

Lars Ulrich

Classic Rock

Lars Ulrich reveals his favorite Metallica songs to play

Over four decades Metallica released 11 studio albums with countless successful tracks and the band’s co-founder and drummer Lars Ulrich revealed on Metallica’s SiriusXM (Transcribed by Blabbermouth) exclusive channel “Mandatory Metallica” which are his favorite songs of the group to perform live.


The band’s 11th album “72 seasons” will be released next April 14 and features  James Hetfield (Guitar and vocals), Lars Ulrich (Drums), Kirk Hammett (Guitar) and Rob Trujillo (Bass).

Lars Ulrich reveals his favorite Metallica songs to play

“I have a few favorites from where I’m sitting. ‘Sad But True’ is a particular favorite of mine. I love the feel of that song and the kind of the stomp and the size of it. You know, it’s a song for me that I play pretty much different every [time].”

“There’s some of the songs that are really rigid and some of the other songs that are a little more freeform. ‘Sad But True’ falls kind of on the far end of the freeform scale; every night [I] play sort of different drum fills and push, pull, all that stuff.”

“So that one I love playing. I love playing ‘Welcome Home (Sanitarium)’, which also subscribes a little bit to the same kind of [approach]; I don’t think I ever play it the same way twice. So those are fun. Those are the first two that come to mind,” Lars Ulrich said.

The band had sold an estimated amount of more than 125 million records worldwide and they are currently one of the biggest Heavy Metal bands that are still active.

New album

“’72 Seasons’. The first 18 years of our lives that form our true or false selves. The concept that we were told ‘who we are’ by our parents. A possible pigeonholing around what kind of personality we are.”

“I think the most interesting part of this is the continued study of those core beliefs and how it affects our perception of the world today. Much of our adult experience is reenactment or reaction to these childhood experiences. Prisoners of childhood or breaking free of those bondages we carry,” James Hetfield said in an official statement.

The album was produced by Greg Fidelman with James Hetfield and Lars Ulrich.

Metallica “72 Seasons” tracklist

  1. 72 Seasons
  2. Shadows Follow
  3. Screaming Suicide
  4. Sleepwalk My Life Away
  5. You Must Burn!
  6. Lux Æterna
  7. Crown of Barbed Wire
  8. Chasing Light
  9. If Darkness Had a Son
  10. Too Far Gone?
  11. Room of Mirrors
  12. Inamorata

I'm a Brazilian journalist who always loved Classic Rock and Heavy Metal music. That passion inspired me to create Rock and Roll Garage over 6 years ago. Music has always been a part of my life, helping me through tough times and being a support to celebrate the good ones. When I became a journalist, I knew I wanted to write about my passions. After graduating in journalism from the Pontifical Catholic University of Minas Gerais, I pursued a postgraduate degree in digital communication at the same institution. The studies and experience in the field helped me improve the website and always bring the best of classic rock to the world! MTB: 0021377/MG

To Top