Connect with us

Joe Satriani releases new song “Sahara” and announces new album

Images from "Sahara" official video

Classic Rock

Joe Satriani releases new song “Sahara” and announces new album

The virtuoso guitarist Joe Satriani released the new song “Sahara” that will be on his upcoming album “The Elephants of Mars” that will be out in April 8. The official music video of the song was directed by filmaker ZZ Satriani, Joe’s son.


Hear the new Joe Satriani song “Sahara”:

“The Elephants of Mars”, is the virtuoso guitarist’s 19th studio album and his first for earMUSIC. The band for the album marries players from Satriani’s universe both past and present. Legendary drummer Kenny Aronoff (John Fogerty, Smashing Pumpkins) is back for his second consecutive tour of duty with the guitarist following his initial debut on Shapeshifting. Bassist Bryan Beller slips inside the liner notes for the first time since 2015’s Shockwave Supernova.


Joe Satriani talked about the new album, saying: “I want to show people that an instrumental guitar album can contain far more creative and entertaining elements than I think people are using right now. We did everything. We tried the craziest ideas. And we entertained every notion we had about turning something backwards, upside down, seeing what could happen.”

Born in Westbury, New York back in 1956, Satriani worked early in his career as a guitar instructor and had many former students that achieved fame like Kirk Hammett (Metallica) and Steve Vai (Alcatrazz, David Lee Roth, Whitesnake).

Besides his successful solo career, Satriani also played with Deep Purple, Mick Jagger, Alice Cooper and the supergroup Chickenfoot.

He is a 15-time Grammy Award nominee and has sold over 10 million albums, making him the bestselling instrumental rock guitarist of all time.

“The Elephants Of Mars” tracklist

Elephants from mars

                           Elephants from Mars cover

  1. Sahara
  2. The Elephants Of Mars
  3. Faceless
  4. Blue Foot Groovy
  5. Tension And Release
  6. Sailing The Seas Of Ganymede
  7. Doors of Perception
  8. E 104th St NYC
  9. Pumpin’
  10. Dance Of The Spores
  11. Night Scene
  12. Through A Mother’s Day Darkly
  13. 22 Memory Lane
  14. Desolation

I'm a Brazilian journalist who always loved Classic Rock and Heavy Metal music. That passion inspired me to create Rock and Roll Garage over 6 years ago. Music has always been a part of my life, helping me through tough times and being a support to celebrate the good ones. When I became a journalist, I knew I wanted to write about my passions. After graduating in journalism from the Pontifical Catholic University of Minas Gerais, I pursued a postgraduate degree in digital communication at the same institution. The studies and experience in the field helped me improve the website and always bring the best of classic rock to the world! MTB: 0021377/MG

To Top