Connect with us

Jethro Tull releases official video for new song “The Zealot Gene”

Jethro Tull
Images from "The Zealot Gene" video

Classic Rock

Jethro Tull releases official video for new song “The Zealot Gene”

Jethro Tull released an official video for “The Zealot Gene”, the title track of their new album. The video was directed by Iranian film-maker Sam Chegini. Tull’s first studio album material in over 18 years will be out next January 28th.


The band that played on the album consists of: Ian Anderson (Flute, acoustic guitar, harmonica, vocals), Joe Parrish-James (Guitar), Florian Opahle (Guitar – album only), Scott Hammond (Drums), John O’Hara (Piano, keyboards and accordion) and David Goodier (Bass).

Watch the official Jethro Tull video for new song “The Zealot Gene”:

Jethro Tull’s leader Ian Anderson talked about the song in an official statement, saying: “The title track offers many allusions to the radical, politically-charged world of populism in leadership. As a song lyric, it sums up, for me, the divisive nature of societal relationships and the extreme views which fuel the fires of hate and prejudice, more so today perhaps, than at any time in history.”

“Perhaps you think you know who I might have been thinking about here but, in reality, there are probably right now at least five prominent, dictatorial national figures who could fit the bill.”

The Zealot Gene will be offered in the following formats:

  • Special Edition Digipak CD
  • Gatefold 2LP+CD+LP-booklet
  • Limited 2CD+Blu-ray Artbook
  • Limited Deluxe 3LP+2CD+Blu-ray Artbook

The Deluxe 3LP+2CD+Blu-ray Artbook comes on white vinyl and includes a 3rd LP with the rough demos. It also includes a slipmat and a numbered art print. The blu-ray includes a 5.1 surround sound mix by Jakko Jakszyk (King Crimson).

‘The Zealot Gene’ Tracklisting:

  • 1. Mrs. Tibbets (5:54)
  • 2. Jacob’s Tales (2:13)
  • 3. Mine Is The Mountain (5:40)
  • 4. The Zealot Gene (3:54)
  • 5. Shoshana Sleeping (3:41)
  • 6. Sad City Sisters (3:40)
  • 7. Barren Beth, Wild Desert John (3:37)
  • 8. The Betrayal Of Joshua Kynde (4:06)
  • 9. Where Did Saturday Go? (3:53)
  • 10. Three Loves, Three (3:30)
  • 11. In Brief Visitation (3:00)
  • 12. The Fisherman Of Ephesus (3:41)

I'm a Brazilian journalist who always loved Classic Rock and Heavy Metal music. That passion inspired me to create Rock and Roll Garage over 6 years ago. Music has always been a part of my life, helping me through tough times and being a support to celebrate the good ones. When I became a journalist, I knew I wanted to write about my passions. After graduating in journalism from the Pontifical Catholic University of Minas Gerais, I pursued a postgraduate degree in digital communication at the same institution. The studies and experience in the field helped me improve the website and always bring the best of classic rock to the world! MTB: 0021377/MG

To Top