Connect with us

Bruce Springsteen talks about Taylor Swift and her new record

Classic Rock

Bruce Springsteen talks about Taylor Swift and her new record

Bruce Springsteen talked in an interview with Howard Stern (Transcribed by Ultimate Guitar) about the current state of music and gave his opinion on Taylor Swift and her new record. The musician revealed that he wouldn’t like to be starting his career nowadays because it’s just a different world now.


Bruce Springsteen talks about Taylor Swift and her new record

“I think music is music has had to share the cultural arena with video games, movies, you know, everything else, everything you can imagine. And that’s just – that’s today.” He was then asked if he is happy that he is not trying to start his career nowadays, he said: “I gotta say, I do. You know, we came up in a golden age, right? You know, if you’re a young guy playing a guitar in 1967, 1975, 1985, you came up just as that whole business turned into something that no one ever thought it would. So, it’s a blessing, but I wouldn’t want to be starting now. I don’t know if you can create – it’s just a different world. That’s all, it’s just a different world.”

“(…) “My daughter, Taylor Swift Fan to the max. The other day, picked her up at the airport, [and she] says, ‘Dad, Taylor Swift’s got a bangin’ new record! And plays it for me, top volume, all the way from Newark to Colts Neck, dancing in her seat.”

“I said, ‘That’s what I liked to see!’ It felt good. You know, it was good. She’s super talented… tremendous writer. And and I know her producer Jack Antonoff very well, they’re making great records. So, there’s people out there – hey, there’s a lot of great work going on, people are still making great record and people were finding a lot of joy in those records. That’s gonna go on, it’s just going to be different, you know? And that’s it,” Bruce Springsteen said.

New Springsteen album

Bruce Springsteen will release a covers album called “Only The Strong Survive”, that pays tribute to Soul Music with songs from the catalogues of labels like Motown, Gamble and Huff and Stax. The 21st Springsteen album will also have special guests like Sam Moore and the E Street horns.

“Only The Strong Survive” tracklist

1. Only the Strong Survive
2. Soul Days feat. Sam Moore
3. Nightshift
4. Do I Love You (Indeed I Do)
5. The Sun Ain’t Gonna Shine Anymore
6. Turn Back the Hands of Time
7. When She Was My Girl
8. Hey, Western Union Man
9. I Wish It Would Rain
10. Don’t Play That Song
11. Any Other Way
12. I Forgot to Be Your Lover feat. Sam Moore
13. 7 Rooms of Gloom
14. What Becomes of the Brokenhearted
15. Someday We’ll Be Together

I'm a Brazilian journalist who always loved Classic Rock and Heavy Metal music. That passion inspired me to create Rock and Roll Garage over 6 years ago. Music has always been a part of my life, helping me through tough times and being a support to celebrate the good ones. When I became a journalist, I knew I wanted to write about my passions. After graduating in journalism from the Pontifical Catholic University of Minas Gerais, I pursued a postgraduate degree in digital communication at the same institution. The studies and experience in the field helped me improve the website and always bring the best of classic rock to the world! MTB: 0021377/MG

To Top