Connect with us

Blue Öyster Cult releases “Tainted Blood” new song about vampires

Blue Oyster Cult 2020

Classic Rock

Blue Öyster Cult releases “Tainted Blood” new song about vampires

Blue Öyster Cult released “Tainted Blood”, one more song of their upcomng album The Symbol Remains. The tune tells the story of a vampire with a broken heart. It is the first studio album in 19 years of the band that is formed by Eric Bloom, Buck Dharma, Richie Castellano, Danny Miranda and Jules Radino.


Hear Blue Öyster Cult new vampire song “Tainted Blood”:

In an exclusive interview with Rock and Roll Garage last month, singer and guitarist Eric Bloom talked about the song when asked about science fiction influence on the new album:

“One song on the new BOC album, ‘The Symbol Remains’ due in October 2020, has its roots in my love for the original horror movies, I.e. Dracula, Wolfman, etc. I mused, what if a vampire wanted to end it all? Why? On a flight on our way to a show last Fall (‘19) I got the concept in my head and started scribbling lyrics on note paper which was the genesis for ‘Tainted Blood’, co-written with Richie Castellano.”

“As far as science fiction, I also was influenced by ‘Invasion’ movies for my concept for ‘Stand and Fight’. But I wanted to keep the lyric open-ended so it could fit many interpretations. Richie also co-wrote.”

‘The Symbol Remains’ Tracklist

1. “That Was Me”
2. “Box in My Head”
3. “Tainted Blood”
4. “Nightmare Epiphany”
5. “Edge of the World”
6. “The Machine”
7. “Train True (Lennie’s Song)”
8. “The Return of St. Cecilia”
9. “Stand and Fight”
10. “Florida Man”
11. “The Alchemist”
12. “Secret Road”
13. “There’s a Crime”
14. “Fight”

On their official website Blue Öyster Cult talked about the new album, saying:

“Coming nearly two decades after the release of their last studio album Curse of the Hidden Mirror, the album showcases a band who hasn’t been slowed by the time passed. But is simply unphased by it. The Symbol Remains is one of their most spirited, diverse, and inspired releases to date.”

“As the saying goes, “good things come to those who wait.” The 14 new songs on display here embody that. Fans will be delighted with an extremely inspired album. Which ultimately sounds like a band looking back at their storied catalog. Also giving the fans a bit of everything they’ve ever loved about BÖC. While simultaneously continuing to evolve.”

I'm a Brazilian journalist who always loved Classic Rock and Heavy Metal music. That passion inspired me to create Rock and Roll Garage over 6 years ago. Music has always been a part of my life, helping me through tough times and being a support to celebrate the good ones. When I became a journalist, I knew I wanted to write about my passions. After graduating in journalism from the Pontifical Catholic University of Minas Gerais, I pursued a postgraduate degree in digital communication at the same institution. The studies and experience in the field helped me improve the website and always bring the best of classic rock to the world! MTB: 0021377/MG

To Top