Connect with us

After 45 years Neil Young’s lost album will be released

Neil Young

Classic Rock

After 45 years Neil Young’s lost album will be released

“Homegrown”, an album that Neil Young recorded in 1975, will finally be released officially, after being considered “lost” for decades. The album, described by Young as “the bridge never heard before between the albums ‘Harvest’ and ‘Comes a Time'”, contains 12 tracks and will be available from June 19 through Reprise Records.


Five of the songs on “Homegrown” ended up being part of Young’s other albums: “Love Is A Rose”, “Homegrown”, “White Line”, “Little Wing” and “Star Of Bethlehem”. Others, like “Try”, have never been heard before.

Hear Neil Young’s unreleased song of the album:

About the lost album, Neil Young said:

“I apologize. This album Homegrown should have been there for you a couple of years after Harvest. It’s the sad side of a love affair. The damage done. The heartache. I just couldn’t listen to it. I wanted to move on. So I kept it to myself, hidden away in the vault, on the shelf, in the back of my mind… but I should have shared it. It’s actually beautiful. That’s why I made it in the first place. Sometimes life hurts. You know what I mean. This is the one that got away.”

The work of the Folk Rock musician has on drums musicians Levon Helm and Karl T Himmel. Also vocals from Emmylou Harris and contributions from Robbie Robertson, Ben Keith, Tim Drummond, and Stan Szelest. John Hanlon restored the original analog mixes of Homegrown, and the new release was mastered by Chris Bellman.

Homegrown tracklist:

Homegrown cover Neil Young

01 Separarte Ways
02 Try
03 Mexico
04 Love Is a Rose
05 Homegrown
06 Florida
07 Kansas
08 We Don’t Smoke It No More
09 White Line
10 Vacancy
11 Little Wing
12 Star of Bethlehem

I'm a Brazilian journalist who always loved Classic Rock and Heavy Metal music. That passion inspired me to create Rock and Roll Garage over 6 years ago. Music has always been a part of my life, helping me through tough times and being a support to celebrate the good ones. When I became a journalist, I knew I wanted to write about my passions. After graduating in journalism from the Pontifical Catholic University of Minas Gerais, I pursued a postgraduate degree in digital communication at the same institution. The studies and experience in the field helped me improve the website and always bring the best of classic rock to the world! MTB: 0021377/MG

To Top