Connect with us

Ian Astbury and Billy Duffy will celebrate the music of pre-The Cult band

The Cult
Photo by Psquared

Classic Rock

Ian Astbury and Billy Duffy will celebrate the music of pre-The Cult band

Before becoming The Cult, the band formed by Ian Astbury and Billy Duffy was originally called Southern Death Cult, then transforming into Death Cult, before finally receiving their most well known name. To celebrate the legacy of those pre-The Cult groups and the EPs they released, the two musicians will perform those early tracks on a special tour that will happen in Los Angeles next October at the Theatre at The Ace Hotel and acoss the United Kingdom on November.


Next Death Cult tour dates


  • 23 – Los Angeles, CA – The Theatre at The Ace Hotel


  • 6 – Belfast, UK – Telegraph
  • 7 – Dublin, IE – 3Olympia
  • 9 – Sheffield, UK – Foundry
  • 10 – Liverpool, UK – Guild of Students
  • 12 – Glasgow, UK – Barrowland
  • 13 – Nottingham, UK – Rock City
  • 14 – Birmingham, UK – O2 Institute
  • 16 – Bournemouth, UK – O2 Academy
  • 17 – Norwich, UK – UEA
  • 18 – Manchester, UK – Albert Hall
  • 20 – London, UK – Brixton Electric
  • 21 – London, UK – Brixton Electric

The Cult’s current line-up has Ian Astbury (Vocals), Billy Duffy (Guitar), John Tempesta (Drums), Charlie Jones (Bass) and Mike Mangan (Keyboards).

Formed in Bradford, West Yorkshire, England back in 1983, The Cult started as a post-punk/gothic rock band and evolved to a sound more close to Hard Rock by the late 80s. Their most famous albums are “Love” (1985), “Electric” (1987), “Sonic Temple” (1989) and “Ceremony” (1991).

Their most recent album “Under The Midnight Sun”, released in 2022.

“Under The Midnight Sun” tracklist

  1. Mirror
  2. A Cut Inside
  3. Vendetta X
  4. Give Me Mercy
  5. Outer Heaven
  6. Knife Through Butterfly Heart
  7. Impermanence
  8. Under The Midnight Sun

Besides his work with The Cult, singer Ian Astbury was also part of the project The Doors of the 21st Century from 2002 to 2007, a project to revive The Doors with the two original members Ray Manzarek (Keyboards) and Robby Krieger (Guitar).

I am a Brazilian journalist, a Classic Rock and Heavy Metal lover. Music has always been part of my life, helped me through tough moments and was with me to celebrate the good ones. When I became a journalist I knew I wanted to write about my passions. After college I did a postgraduate degree in digital communication. This has helped me to make the website better and bring the best of classic rock to the world! MTB: 0021377/MG

To Top