Connect with us

Eric Clapton releases “Always On My Mind” cover to honor Willie Nelson

Eric Clapton
Images from Eric Clapton's Instagram and @aubreywisephoto


Eric Clapton releases “Always On My Mind” cover to honor Willie Nelson

The guitarist and singer Eric Clapton released a cover for the famous song “Always On My Mind”, which was first released in 1972 by Gwen McCrae and famously covered by Elvis Presley and Willie Nelson.


According to an official statement, the new version made alongside the Country singer and composer Bradley Walker, was made to honor the legendary Willie Nelson. The Rolling Stones guitarist Ronnie Wood also played the guitar in the track.

“The video for “Always On My Mind” is a touching collection of photos and videos that celebrate Willie Nelson’s legendary, decades-spanning career.”

“This new release comes ahead of Eric Clapton’s Crossroads Guitar Festival, held in Los Angeles this September, where Bradley Walker will also be performing,” the official statement said.

Hear the new Eric Clapton song “Always On My Mind” with Bradley Walker:

The track was produced by Clapton, Simon Climie and Jerry Douglas. Also were part of the recording the musicians: Aly Bain (Fiddle), Phil Cunningham (Piano & Piano Accordion), Jerry Douglas (Dobro), John Doyle (Guitars), Daniel Kimbro (Double Bass), James Macintosh (Drums), Mike McGoldrick (Fiddle & Whistle), John McKusker (Fiddle & Uilleann Pipes) and Ronnie Wood (Electric Guitar).

Next tour dates

September (2023)

  • 16 – Ball Arena – Denver, CO
  • 23 –  Eric Clapton’s Crossroads Guitar Festival – Los Angeles, CA
  • 24 – Eric Clapton’s Crossroads Guitar Festival – Los Angeles, CA

May (2024)

  • 9 – Utilita Arena Newcastle – Newcastle Upon Tyne, United Kingdom
  • 11 – M&S Bank Arena Liverpool – Liverpool, United Kingdom
  • 13 – Resorts World Arena – Birmingham, United Kingdom
  • 16 – 3Arena – Dublin, Ireland
  • 20 – Royal Albert Hall – London, United Kingdom
  • 21 – Royal Albert Hall – London, United Kingdom

His current band has: Andy Fairweather Low (Guitar, vocals), Chris Stainton (Piano, keyboards), Paul Carrack (Organ, keyboards, vocals), Nathan East (Bass), Sonny Emory (Drums), Katie Kissoon (Backing vocals) and Sharon White (Backing vocals).

I am a Brazilian journalist, a Classic Rock and Heavy Metal lover. Music has always been part of my life, helped me through tough moments and was with me to celebrate the good ones. When I became a journalist I knew I wanted to write about my passions. After college I did a postgraduate degree in digital communication. This has helped me to make the website better and bring the best of classic rock to the world! MTB: 0021377/MG

To Top