Connect with us

Elton John postpones forthcoming farewell tour dates due to health issues

Elton John

Classic Rock

Elton John postpones forthcoming farewell tour dates due to health issues

Elton John announced the postponement of 2021 European tour dates to 2023 due to a hip injury. The 2022 North American tour dates continue the same.

Advertisement

The musician explained the situation and his health in a official statement:

“It is with great sadness and a heavy heart that I am forced to reschedule the 2021 dates of my Farewell Yellow Brick Road tour in Europe and the UK to 2023.”

“At the end of my summer break I fell awkwardly on a hard surface and have been in considerable pain and discomfort in my hip ever since. Despite intensive physio and specialist treatment, the pain has continued to get worse and is leading to increasing difficulties moving.”

“I have been advised to have an operation as soon as possible to get me back to full fitness and make sure there are no long-term complications. I will be undertaking a program of intensive physiotherapy that will ensure a full recovery and a return to full mobility without pain.”

He continued:

“I am going to complete the charitable Global Citizen event on 25th September as I don’t want to let a charity down. Being just five songs it’s a very different physical undertaking to the demands of playing for close to three hours every night on tour and travelling overnight between countries.”

“After this I will be having the operation to ensure the tour can get back on the road in January of 2022 in New Orleans.”

“I know how patient my incredible fans have been since Covid halted touring last year, and it breaks my heart to keep you waiting any longer. I completely feel your frustrations after the year we’ve had. I promise you this – the shows will return to the road next year and I will make sure they are more than worth the wait,” Elton John said.

Elton John Farewell Yellow Brick Road Tour rescheduled dates:

  • Sat 21 May 2022 – Telenor Arena, Oslo
  • Sun 22 May 2022 – Telenor Arena, Oslo
  • Tue 28 March 2023 – 3Arena, Dublin
  • Wed 29 March 2023 – 3Arena, Dublin
  • Fri 31 March 2023 – SSE Arena, Belfast
  • Sun 2 April 2023 – The O2, London
  • Tue 4 April 2023 – The O2, London
  • Wed 5 April 2023 – The O2, London
  • Sat 8 April 2023 – The O2, London
  • Sun 9 April 2023 – The O2, London
  • Wed 12 April 2023 – The O2, London
  • Thur 13 April 2023 – The O2, London
  • Sun 16 April 2023 – The O2, London
  • Mon 17 April 2023 – The O2, London
  • Wed 19 April 2023 – Resorts World Arena, Birmingham
  • Sat 22 April 2023 – M&S Bank Arena, Liverpool
  • Sun 23 April 2023 – M&S Bank Arena, Liverpool
  • Thu 27 April 2023 – Olympiahalle, Munich
  • Tue 2 May 2023 – Barclaycard Arena, Hamburg
  • Thu 4 May 2023 – Barclaycard Arena, Hamburg
  • Fri 5 May 2023 – Barclaycard Arena, Hamburg
  • Mon 8 May 2023 – Mercedes Benz Arena, Berlin
  • Wed 10 May 2023 – Mercedes Benz Arena, Berlin
  • Thu 11 May 2023 – Mercedes Benz Arena, Berlin
  • Sat 13 May 2023 – SAP Arena, Mannheim
  • Tue 16 May 2023 – Lanxess Arena, Cologne
  • Thu 18 May 2023 – Lanxess Arena, Cologne
  • Fri 19 May 2023 – Lanxess Arena, Cologne
  • Mon 22 May 2023 – Palau Sant Jordi, Barcelona
  • Tue 23 May 2023 – Palau Sant Jordi, Barcelona
  • Sat 27 May 2023 – Sportpaleis, Antwerp
  • Sun 28 May 2023 – Sportpaleis, Antwerp
  • Wed 31 May 2023 – AO Arena, Manchester
  • Fri 2 June 2023 – AO Arena, Manchester
  • Sat 3 June 2023 – AO Arena, Manchester
  • Tue 6 June 2023 – First Direct Arena, Leeds
  • Sat 10 June 2023 – Utilita Arena, Birmingham
  • Sun 11 June 2023 – Utilita Arena, Birmingham
  • Tue 13 June 2023 – P&J Live, Aberdeen
  • Thu 15 June 2023 – P&J Live, Aberdeen
  • Sat 17 June 2023 – The SSE Hydro, Glasgow
  • Sun 18 June 2023 – The SSE Hydro, Glasgow
  • Sun 25 June 2023 – Accor Arena, Paris
  • Tue 27 June 2023 – Accor Arena, Paris
  • Wed 28 June 2023 – Accor Arena, Paris
  • Sat 1 July 2023 – Hallenstadion, Zurich
  • Sun 2 July 2023 – Hallenstadion, Zurich
  • Wed 5 July 2023 – Royal Arena, Copenhagen
  • Fri 7 July 2023 – Tele2 Arena, Stockholm
  • Sat 8 July 2023 – Tele2 Arena, Stockholm
  • Dates to be announced – Hatrwell Arena, Helsinki
  • Dates to be announced – Hatrwell Arena, Helsinki

I am a Brazilian journalist, a Classic Rock and Heavy Metal lover. Music has always been part of my life, helped me through tough moments and was with me to celebrate the good ones. When I became a journalist I knew I wanted to write about my passions. After college I did a postgraduate degree in digital communication. This has helped me to make the website better and bring the best of classic rock to the world! MTB: 0021377/MG

Advertisement
To Top